2014 – wtf? a thank you

Campo Grande, Lisboa – 2nd of January 2015

I’ve been through life changing years, certainly. At the beginning of 2012 for example, my goal was to complete my bachelor degree in Computer Science and instead starting studying Music Theory. Through some coincidences, although still finishing my Bachelor’s, I ended up starting going to a private dance academy and studying contemporary dance – for which I paid 340€ per month, which led to me working more than ever and owing my parents. For the next 2 years I was working non-stop.

Let’s just say, my life changed radically and I finally followed a passion of mine instead of just doing what I was good in.

In 2013 I broke up with my boyfriend after 4 years of relationship, which led me to develop a lot as a person. I’m still glad I did, and am still friends with this wonderful guy, but it was the best decision of that year.

But the only thing that comes to mind when I think back on 2014 is … WTF??? I feel like I can hardly relate to the person I was before June. My thoughts have changed, I’ve done a lot of things I thought I’d never have the guts to do.
If you’d told me in May, that in 2014 I’d move to another country, learn a compltely new language so well I usually can communicate without any problems, hitchhike, travel alone for over 2 weeks, in general travel more than the past years in my life n totally fall in love with it, will make well around 20 new friends, meet probably 100 new people I actually stay in touch with, discover that most of my friends in Berlin are no real friends, from July until December speak 90% English and Portuguese instead of German, reduce all my belongings by more than 2/3 (wild guess), give up dancing as a serious career, instead go volunteering and discover that teaching is a true passion of mine – I would have bet for a 1000€ that you are wrong.

And still, here I am. Having done all of that, and hundreds and thousands of stuff more I would have never believed and can’t even remember right now. And you know what? Although there were plenty of bad experiences as well, I can very well sum up that 2014 has not only been my most life-changing, but also probably the best year I’ve ever had.
And honestly, I actually don’t even remember really how exactly I made a few of those life changing decisions like going alone on a 2 week trip through a country I hardly know, hitchhiking for the first time in my life, after not even having traveled a weekend on my own 😀 I think I was desperate for a life change and willing to take every risk.

Now I feel like I found home, and I am happy. Truly happy. Of course, not everything is perfect by far – but there is an inner feeling of happiness, that makes me smile at the sun at nearly every day for no specific reason. This is what I had been looking for the past 23 years, and here it finally is.

Thank you 2014. And welcome, 2015, whatever you might bring.

Lisboa – Alameda

Leave a Reply

